catharsis on a tuesday night

 

Catharsis [ kə tháarssiss ], by one definition is emotional release brought about by an emotional experience, especially by expressing it in an art form.

For me, painting is a form of catharsis…second to that would be music and movies. Last night I needed an emotional release. Like, a big time emotional release…my fabulous neighbor cooked me dinner, one of my best friends came over to chat and eat with us….it was a cozy night after a long and tiring day. Then…well, then the proverbial shit hit the fan.

I tried to settle down for the evening (after nearly ‘concussing’ myself horsing around with my friends daughter…yep….instant swollen nose, half a black eye and dizziness)…but I have been burning the candle at both ends and in the middle for SO many weeks now that I couldn’t settle down. I couldn’t release. And then it hit me…Reality Bites! And then it hit me again…Reality Bites the movie is on HBO on demand right now (we don’t have cable but because of my movie addiction we have HBO…I pay for it..I need it)…

I know, what a cliché. But this movie came out at a very pivotal point in my life….the summer I left home, very green, and went to college. With all of it’s pop culture references, witty banter,and, not to mention that it exemplied some of the career and lifestyle choices faced by (gulp) my generation…and still does. I guess, even if it is looked at as a cheese-ball hipster movie by many viewers and critics, this movie always make me feel better. I laugh, I cry…I understand.

I just feel better after I watch it…especially when I get up to dance around the room when they play “My Sharona” during the gas station scene! It reminds me of college…when I had a gas credit card and I used to buy my groceries on it…sorry Dad…I was so poor, I think I lived on cranberry juice , peanutbutter crackers, yogurt and mac-n-cheese for at least two years.

So I will end this post with the dialogue from my favorite scene…cuz afterall, wouldn’t life be great  if it all we needed was “You and me and five bucks.”

“You see, this is where Troy was fired…

from his eleventh job.

He was an illustrious office cleaner.

Now if you’ll come this way, please…

we will continue our short but happy walking tour…

of the career of Troy Dyer.

And here we have the newsstand…

where Troy dared to ask the question…

Are employee snacks subsidized?

The answer… tragically, no.

In total, he has been fired…

from… yes, count them… twelve jobs.

Twelve? Ouch.

So you shouldn’t feel so bad.

One of these mornings, I’m going to wake up before noon and…

Ha ha. Yeah, right.

And I’m gonna turn on the TV…

and there Bryant Gumbel will be, and he’ll say…

“Today we have with us…

“the Pulitzer Prize winning documentarian Lelaina Pierce.

“Lelaina, after your first film, Why Barbie Is Bad… “

“You seem to have forgotten all about…

“your best friend, Troy Dyer. “

Troy who?

What was that name again?

Oh, right through the heart.

I’ll probably be working at the Whole Foods…

playing warehouses…

hanging around places like the Radio Shack…

screaming that I used to know you…

and you’ll be there in the lights…

and you’ll be all beautiful and shit.

Oh, Troy. No, no, no. That’ll never happen.

They would never hire you at Whole Foods.

You see, Lainie, this is all we need…

a couple of smokes, a cup of coffee…

And a little bit of conversation.

You and me and five bucks.

You got it.”

And the soundtrack…

“My Sharona” – The Knack
“Spin the Bottle” – Juliana Hatfield Three
“Bed of Roses” – The Indians
“When You Come Back to Me” – World Party
“Going, Going, Gone” – The Posies
“Stay (I Missed You)” – Lisa Loeb & Nine Stories
“All I Want Is You” – U2
“Locked Out” – Crowded House
“Spinning Around Over You” – Lenny Kravitz
“I’m Nuthin'” – Ethan Hawke
“Turnip Farm” – Dinosaur Jr.
“Revival!” – Me Phi Me
“Tempted” – Squeeze
“Baby, I Love Your Way” – Big Mountain
10th Anniversary Edition bonus tracks
“Stay (I Missed You)” (Living Room mix) – Lisa Loeb
“Add It Up” – Ethan Hawke (Violent Femmes cover)
“Confusion” – New Order
“Disco Inferno” – The Trammps
“Give a Man a Fish” – Arrested Development
“Fools Like Me” – Lisa Loeb

Leave a Reply

